Oats & Rice (Today’s meals)

I’ve been reading a lot about ‘overnight oats’ on various food blogs. The idea is that the night before, you combine rolled oats, milk, and yogurt, as well as any desired toppings, and let them soak overnight in the fridge. The next morning the oats will be ready to eat right out of the fridge. So it’s a cold breakfast, but with the summer weather I am totally fine with that.

Working off the recipe from Kath Eats Real Food, I mixed the following the previous night:

1/3 cup plain soy milk
1/3 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup plain yogurt
generous sprinkling of cinnamon
1/2 of a very ripe banana, mashed

And in the morning, I added:

handful golden raisins
2 tbsp flax seeds
2 tbsp almond butter

The result?

As promised, the oatmeal is really chewy and doughy. I love chewy foods, so home-run in my opinion. Much as I love regular cooked oatmeal this was an awesome combination. Can’t wait to attempt more permutations.

A better look at the texture of the oatmeal:

Overnight Oats closeup

10 hours later, I was cooking dinner. I decided to make Spinach + Sausage + Chimichurri Rice. It was super easy. The ‘recipe’ (doesn’t really even qualify as a recipe):

1/2 bag Trader Joe’s Frozen Chimichurri Rice
1 tsp Trader Joe’s Ā Jarred Diced Garlic
2x Trader Joe’s Smoked, Apple Chardonnay Sausages, sliced
1 tbsp canola oil

I heated the oil in a large skillet on medium-high and sauteed the garlic for 1 min. Then I added the sausage slices and pan-fried for about 6 min before adding the rice and spinach. Then, I let the mix fry for another 6 minutes or so.

It was so good. I am not sure what’s in Chimichurri Rice but whatever it is, it was delicious. I didn’t really taste the apple or chardonnay in the sausage… I expected it to be a little sweeter I guess. But the sausage went well with the rice anyhow. Pictures!

Chimichurri Rice closeup

Things I would change next time…I would probably add the spinach BEFORE the rice, because it took forever for the spinach to wilt. Also, the garlic flavor was too subtle, so I would double the amount of garlic next time.

Leave a Reply

