Stir-fry Cumin Tofu

It annoys the hell out of me it when people see me eating a meat-free meal and are like “Oh so you’re a vegetarian?”

NO. I am not a vegetarian. Sometimes my meals happen to be, that’s all.

Tonight I made cumin tofu! I drew inspiration from these Cumin Eggplant and Cumin Tofu recipes. Here is my rendition:

INGREDIENTS
200 g fresh firm tofu (half of a package from Trader Joe’s)
1 red onion
1/2 eggplant
1 tsp frozen cilantro
1 tsp ginger, sliced
1 tbsp crushed garlic
all-purpose flour
cayenne red pepper
cumin
scallion, chopped
canola oil
soy sauce

How I did it: Cut eggplant into chunks. Lightly salt and toss to distribute. Set aside for 15-20 min.

Cut tofu into cubes. Add flour to a small bowl; there should be enough to coat the tofu. Add cumin and pepper as desired, and mix. Add tofu and toss until coated.

In a large skillet, heat oil on medium-high. Add sliced onions and saute for 1-2 min. Add ginger, pepper, cumin, and cilantro and saute for additional 1 min, until fragrant.

Add eggplant and fry for ~1 min, before adding tofu. Cook the entire thing for 3-4 minutes on medium high. Reduce heat to low-medium.  Stir in soy sauce and garlic. Let simmer for additional ~10 min. Garnish with chopped scallions and serve with white rice.

This recipe is very flexible — amounts for the spices and sauces can easily be adjusted to tastes. I would probably add a little more cumin next time. I think paprika would be a great addition too–if I can get my hands on it.

The way I made it, this dish is definitely on the spicy side, so it goes well with the rice. It’s  pretty light and healthy-tasting, which is just as well giving my baking obsession lately…

 

Pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

